Archive for August 17, 2016


By Maliap Madit Mabior, Kampala, Uganda

Stephen Dhieu Dau

Hon. Stephen Dhieu Dau, South Sudan minister for finance and economic planning

August 17, 2016 –  Despite the fact that the economic crises our country is undergoing through are hard for one to place hope on someone tasked with the responsibility of managing our National Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning – MoFEP,  one would still mention a word just because we live on hopes that things will work out.

Yes, the top objective of the Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning is managing public finances ensuring transparency and accountability – catering for government sectors financially and streamlining tax collection countrywide.  If one could ask, has the ministry (previous ministers) adhered to this objective? Certainly we may or not have the answers.

However, it’s worth mentioning that the ministry or country has registered a number of successes since its inception (2005, 2011 – 2016) under different ministers. In 2012 – 2013, South Sudan was voted as the fastest growing country ever because of the initial promising start but then reversed. Yes, these crises could be blamed on political instability in the country. But from economic view point, it is wise saying that these economic hardships aren’t only politically created but weak economic – financial polices also added on.  And with that, let me take you through the vision and mission statements of our Ministry of Finance and Economic – MoFEP.

(more…)

South Sudan: I Remember Something…

Posted: August 17, 2016 by PaanLuel Wël Media Ltd. in Junub Sudan, Poems.

By Samzil Agoth Agoth, Juba, South Sudan

Martyrs Day

Dr. John Garang, William Nyuon Bany and Salva Kiir, during the war of liberation

I Think I Remember Something…

First Time I Laid My Eyes on You My LOVE Was in 2007…

I Was 19 Yrs Old Ergo You Stole My Heart Since Conception.

We Ushered in JANUARY Knowing it’s Gonna Be A Wonderful Year…

Around FEBRUARY I Thought I Could MARCH Forward and Come See You.

Told My Hommies How Much I Missed You But They Took it For APRIL Fools.

Prayed to God “MAY I Please Make it to You in JUNE But Nothing Tangible Happened Since JULY Was Cruel to Me.

(more…)