Archive for January 9, 2018


By Manyang David Mayar, Eldoret, Kenya 

unknown gunman

the new joke doing rounds in Juba: when attacked by burglars, call the police at your own risk.

January 9, 2018 (SSB) — I just discovered why my fellow South Sudanese who travel outside of the country’s capital return to Juba healthier compared to the time they left Juba. For the past many years, I have been seeing some South Sudanese leaving Juba to East African Countries in order to spend their holidays. Sometimes others go for training or for studies in Nairobi or Kampala, Addis Ababa or China and other foreign countries.

Most of them fly out of Juba International Airport or cross through the Nimule border with a rough skin and wrinkled faces. But when they return, they come back home with smooth skin; looking fresh and healthier than the time they left Juba.

I have been wondering what could it be – the thing that improves people’s health instantly in the foreign countries. I used to think it might be the cold nice weather in those countries that improve their health, or it might be the nice food or perhaps the free public transport that you don’t need to fight for like in Juba. Fortunately, a time came for me to experience the secret myself.

(more…)


By Abraham Biar Gai, Nairobi, Kenya

Dinka cows

January 9, 2018 (SSB) — With view of shading light and opening up discussions on why South Sudan livestock sub-sector is seriously under-performing visually in all aspects that include food productivity and security, trade, poverty reduction, income generation, employment and broadening economic-based in spite of the huge potential it has, several flashpoints related to lack of appropriate policies or lack of implementation of such policies have been identified.  

Livestock sector dynamics

Livestock is a collective term used to refer to domesticated animals that are kept by human for purpose of production of food (meat, milk, egg, blood), raw material (hair, wool, hide & skin) and services (animal draught & carriage) as well as religious and social functions (sacrifices, marriage and status) depending with the community and user. The principal livestock species in South Sudan context are cattle, shoats (sheep & Goat), donkey, pig, camel, and poultry in distributed across the country in varied numbers based on the ecological influences as well as the communities’ preferences.

(more…)


The reason behind provocations from Juba. If these provocations continue unabated, then I would respond with appropriate and proportional force, and the blame would be on the government.

By Gen. Paul Malong Awan Anei, Nairobi, Kenya

malong1

January 9, 2018 (SSB) — Ever since I was relieved of duty as Chief of General Staff, there has been a target painted on my back by elements within the government who profit from war. In the aftermath of my being reassigned, these schemers immediately smelt blood. They quickly concocted and circulated rumors about me starting a rebellion, and quickly brought in the president. That is why when I attempted to leave Juba for Aweil, I was intercepted at Yirol with the promise to “clear any misunderstandings that may be there with the president.”

I later learnt, as you all did, that it was a trap that landed me into secret house arrest. When my illegal and secretive detention came to light, the schemers shifted their intentions and now they had to “get rid of me”. That is why they cordoned off my residence and surrounded it with a battalion of soldiers, and heightened tensions around Juba in the runner-up to my release on the President’s orders. The schemers in J1 were desperately pulling every trick in their bags to paint me as a serious threat to the government, with the hope of securing a Presidential order to attack and kill me.

When that failed, and after my release, the scheming has only continued. On numerous occasions, they have bribed, coerced people to fabricate rumors implicating me, but thankfully all their schemes have been exposed to this point. The latest was a fabrication of my voice in audio recordings making rounds all over social media. My question is if the government or security agencies get information that I was engaged in subversive activities, their first step is to publish that information in the newspapers and on social media?

(more…)