Archive for January 31, 2018


By Mabil Manyok Nhial, Gweru, Zimbabwe

South Sudanese students in Zimbabwe

South Sudanese students in Zimbabwe

January 31, 2018 (SSB) — On Tuesday 30th, a group South Sudanese Students at Midlands State University (MSU) in Central Zimbabwe, passionately took part in a tree-planting programme at their University as a campaign for globalisation and also to leave an indelible legacy as the first international students to advocate for such a global issue.

This reminds me of what Lord Orrery succinctly verbalized “trees are the best monuments that a man can erect to his own memory. They speak his praises without flattery, and they are blessings to children yet unborn.” This clearly portrays that planting of trees does not only improve the quality of our environments, but it also keeps a person’s name alive for as long as the world exists.

(more…)


By Thokgor Reech, Juba, South Sudan

Kiir first interview after nomination and confirmation as splm leader, new site, 2005

Kiir first interview after nomination and confirmation as splm leader, new site, 2005

January 31, 2018 (SSB) — “We are brothers and sisters from different mothers and fathers in this world regardless of our colours” Thokgor Reech. My natures:  I’m a thinker, powerful, but fair to other people, I often think safe, straight talk, critical thinking and think straight.  Also, I was born a leader, strong being, I love real things, determined to make things differently, strong-minded to win the fight, and think differently. I believe in redesigned things, spirituality in nature, smart and focused, loyal and hardworking, courage to follow my dreams, confidence in treated another with respect and human dignity.

Also, I clearly love my success in looked back and seen my innovative, trusted, ethical and making things civilizing. Furthermore, I developed self-assessment, assertiveness, ability to accept responsibilities, personal awareness, cultural awareness and sensitivity to handle my life direction all times.   However, I learned that leadership has no formula to problem-solving because they always differ from one another while they want different approaches as well.   My “common understanding is my best philosophy to understand living things behaviors” in many ways by developing a peace of mind, self-reconciliation, and self-management.

(more…)


By David Matiop Gai, Juba, South Sudan

abel-alier-and-governor-philip-aguer-demontarting-peace-and-reconciliation-picture-by-mach-samuel

Abel Alier and Philip Aguer picture by Mach Samuel

January 31, 2018 (SSB) — Why is it so important to have peace in South Sudan? Remember, it is not me alone who is willing for peace to come to South Sudan but all of us are for peace and I think we have many reasonable answers to this question because days and nights of sitting under trees, moving in valleys, climbing on hills and mountains, and pulling behind our development are over.

It is not easier to end violence than peace but it is easier to start peace. Now in our conflicting state, the concept of the ideal state of equality, freedom, justice, happiness, fairness, democratic, unity, safety, liberty, freedom of speeches and expressions, and prosperity as a nation, we always sang may not appear to us as a prepared form from the blue. Each and every nation work for their stability and prosperity

I have a bullet to kill the war, not because I have great ideas about peace rather than other South Sudanese but my contributions toward peace and stability is a great asset and we all need our efforts to bring peace. The peace process in South Sudan needs comprehensive programs. These comprehensive programs must involve peace education following national dialogue.

(more…)